A New Classic: Egg Nog Cake with Vintage Bourbon Cream Frosting

Egg Nog Cake

Firstie was wanting an Egg Nog cake for his special December day.  Not finding a recipe for “egg nog cake” anywhere on the web, I did the only thing that a girl can do in that situation:  I panicked.

Then my creative brain kicked in and reminded me that cake making was pretty straight forward in its formula; just give it the appropriate seasonal flair and it should work.  I was completely unprepared for how well it would work.  I served it with our homemade Vanilla & Ginger Snap ice cream for a very memorable day, and a definite new family favorite.

I hope that you get a chance to try it, and that you love it as much as we do.  Cheers!

……………………………………………………………………………….

C = Cup and tsp = teaspoon

EGG NOG CAKE
1 1/2 C butter, softened
1 1/2 C extra-fine granulated sugar
4 egg whites
4 tsp vanilla extract
2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp ground nutmeg
1/2 tsp ground clove
1 little splash of bourbon
2 C all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 1/3 C Egg Nog, plus a bit more to reach consistency*
Vintage Bourbon Cream Frosting (below)

* When I first made this recipe, the consistency was close to dough-like, so I kept adding a bit more egg nog to get more of a batter. Still not quite what I was expecting, but the end result was fabulous.

Directions:
350* oven
1. In a large mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar until creamy.
2. Beat in egg whites one at a time.
3. Beat in vanilla and spices.
4. Combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt; add to creamed mixture alternately with egg nog, beating just until combined.  Don’t overmix.
5. Spread evenly into two greased and floured 9-in round baking pans.
6. Bake at 350 degrees F for 30-35 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean.
7. To cool, put your cakes directly into the freezer from the oven for 45 minutes, then remove to the counter for decorating.*  PLEASE only do this with metal pans; the extreme temperature change could cause any sort of ceramic or glass pan to shatter.
8. Ice with Vintage Bourbon Cream Frosting.
9. Top with crushed ginger snap cookie and chill for one hour.
10. Cut into 16 slices and serve with Vanilla & Ginger Snap ice cream.  Deo Gratias for simple joys!

Notes:
– For goodness sake, please do NOT use margarine; you will absolutely break my heart. And besides, nothing says love like butter.
– My vanilla doesn’t have alcohol, so my amounts may be greater than those with alcohol-based vanilla; you may want to adjust your vanilla accordingly.
– I really do recommend the freezer right after baking; I have had consistently moist cakes, despite the fact that I don’t really know what I’m doing. Just make sure to use metal pans if you go right to freezer from the oven. You will love it!
– Oh, and always double the vanilla (the doubled amount is already in this recipe).
– For the egg nog, I used Hub’s homemade twist, “loosely based” on Sal’s Easiest Egg Nog (Hub’s changes were to substitute half & half for the low-fat milk, and to use more eggs).

HUB’S LOOSEY GOOSEY EGG NOG
1 Qt half & half*
9 whole eggs
A couple of handfuls of sugar
A bunch of vanilla
And probably some cinnamon and nutmeg

Directions:
Mix it all up in a bowl and chill it in the fridge.
Makes enough for the cake.  Hopefully.
* Hub says, “I only used half & half because the store was out of heavy cream.”  Lord, how I love this man.

Vintage Bourbon Cream Frosting

VINTAGE BOURBON CREAM FROSTING
2 blocks cream cheese
1/2 C softened butter
1 1/4 – 16 oz boxes powdered sugar (a bit more or less to taste)
8 tsp vanilla
2+ tsp Kentucky bourbon (or more according to taste)

Directions:
1. Cream the cream cheese and butter.
2. Cream in the powdered sugar.
3. Cream in the vanilla and bourbon.
4. Chill 30 minutes or until cakes are out of the freezer.

Notes:
I use an alcohol-free vanilla, and tend to use more than in alcohol-based vanilla; you may want to adjust your vanilla accordingly….The picture is a half-iced cake, to give an idea of consistency and texture of the frosting.  I was running a little late, so didn’t chill it but 15 minutes and it was still wonderful.

VANILLA & GINGER SNAP ICE CREAM
For Homemade Ice Cream:
2 C milk
1 C extra fine sugar
3 C heavy whipping cream
6 tsp vanilla
2 tsp cinnamon, ground or freshly grated
1+ C Ginger Snap cookie pieces, about the size of a sweet pea, give or take.

Directions
1. Using a hand mixer, dissolve sugar into milk.
2. Add heavy whipping cream, vanilla and cinnamon and beat on medium for one minute.
3. Place mixture into ice cream machine.  Follow manufacturer’s instructions for making ice cream.
4. Five minutes before the ice cream is done mixing, add the Ginger Snap cookie pieces, a bit at a time.
5. When ice cream is done mixing in the machine, remove to a freezer-safe bowl and chill for an hour.

For Store-bought Ice Cream:
1 package vanilla ice cream
3 tsp vanilla (no such thing as too much vanilla)
2 tsp cinnamon, ground or freshly grated
1+ C Ginger Snap cookie pieces, about the size of a sweet pea, give or take.

Directions:
1. Soften the ice cream (I like to leave mine on the counter for a bit).
2. Stir as soon as it’s “stirrable”.  (Oh, yes, you’ll learn all sorts of new words here.)
3. Stir in vanilla and cinnamon.
4. Add cookie pieces, mixing in thoroughly.
5. Leave out for a bit, so that the ice cream softens the ginger snaps just a bit.
6. Place in freezer to set, about an hour or so.

This is a really wonderful softer ice cream, especially when served with the Egg Nog cake.  After it’s set in the freezer, you can leave it out for 20 minutes before serving, or cut back on your freezer time.  Whatever works for you.

Yep. We thought so, too. 🙂

87 Responses to A New Classic: Egg Nog Cake with Vintage Bourbon Cream Frosting

  1. auntbethany says:

    Oh wow…I mean, wow….you need to photograph for cookbooks, ’cause I want, nay…NEED…to make this 4-layered fragment of heaven. Well deserved FP status. Happy holidays!

    http://miracleon32ndstreet.wordpress.com

  2. Zahara says:

    Yum. I can taste this cake and ice cream combo. Thank you!

  3. […] Firstie was wanting an Egg Nog cake for his special December day.  Not finding a recipe for "egg nog cake" anywhere on the web, I did the only thing that a girl can do in that situation:  I panicked. Then my creative brain kicked in and reminded me that cake making was pretty straight forward in its formula; just give it the appropriate seasonal flair and … Read More […]

  4. Coco Rivers says:

    Oh boy this looks absolutely fabulous and scrumptious!!! Must try lol. Thanks for rising above the panic and sharing :). Happy holidays.

  5. enjoibeing says:

    that looks amazingly delicious and scrumptious! i have been scouring the city for some egg nog for christmas and this looks way better than a drink!

    http://enjoibeing.wordpress.com/

  6. As an eggnog addict, I might have to make this cake for my birthday on 1/1. Congrats on being freshly pressed.

  7. mecalvincasey says:

    OMG this sounds heavenly… Printing the recipe as I type and going to the store soon after for the ingredients… can’t wait to try it!

    Thanks for sharing!

  8. Zowie. I’m sending these recipes to Debra in Delaware for her December birthday coming up. Her husband is an amazing cook and I bet he could make these dreamy cakes come true (and send me photos….sigh).

  9. Wow! I haven’t had egg nogg in years but have always liked it (my Mum used to make an alcohol free version for the kids). Must try to make this recipe for our Christmas in July celebration… Yum!

  10. […] the article here: A New Classic: Egg Nog Cake with Vintage Bourbon Cream Frosting Posted on 2010 年 12 月 26 日 by lanshang1460. This entry was posted in 未分类 and tagged […]

  11. achilliad says:

    I LOVE Egg Nog, but since I had nobody to shar my usual expertly “spiked” version of it this year, didn’t buy any. I made a great sweet potatoe pie for a holiday party gift the week before Christmas, and your recipie is very similar to mine, save the main ingredient. It sounds delicious…will maybe save ’til next year.

    Kudos on being scrumptiously “Pressed”!

  12. Lushfun says:

    Does seem an interesting twist than the regular route.

  13. Oh My GOOODNESSSSSSSSS! This recipe looks fantastic and I cannot wait to try such a delicious treat!

  14. Sidhe Woman says:

    Oh my.

    How I wish I had a slice of that right now!

  15. This looks amazing!! Can’t wait to try it…

  16. Tee says:

    Oh, wow. This looks so good. I have been so *bad* over the holidays, but this treat seems definitely worth the consequences of fallin of the diet wagon. Yum!

    And your photography is just as tempting as the recipe. One look and I was hooked. I had to get the details. 🙂

  17. Erika says:

    This looks absolutely AMAZING! I love eggnog. Congrats on making “Freshly Pressed.”

  18. rraineydays says:

    Looks heavenly yummy! 🙂 Thanks for sharing the recipes!!!

  19. Ms. MEM says:

    WoW…. Im not really a cake baker but ..your cake looks very yummy!

  20. Cat says:

    Wow… looks great!

  21. KanKan says:

    i love reading about food and especially love seeing the pictures..!omg, it looks heavenly! i just moved so everything’s in boxes right now, but i cant wait to try out this version of the cake!
    thanks so much for the pictures, they made my day!

  22. Egg Nog Cake! i love,I wish I had a slice of that right now!

  23. 9medusa says:

    This looks exceptionally amazing. tempting to try on my own

  24. rsmacaalay says:

    Nothing beats a classic recipe

  25. Egg nog cake with bourbon cream? It’s enormous…

  26. It looks absolutely delicious!!! Congrats on being freshly pressed. x

  27. Leanne says:

    looks sooo yummy cant wait to try it out!!

    thanks 🙂

    check out my blog – it’s brand new!!

    http://urbanoptimist.wordpress.com/

    lovess

    xxx

  28. […] Firstie was wanting an Egg Nog cake for his special December day.  Not finding a recipe for "egg nog cake" anywhere on the web, I did the only thing that a girl can do in that situation:  I panicked. Then my creative brain kicked in and reminded me that cake making was pretty straight forward in its formula; just give it the appropriate seasonal flair and … Read More […]

  29. rtcrita says:

    That looks and sounds delicious! I so want to try this one out soon. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

  30. Angelamz40 says:

    Looks absolutely divine. I’ll definitely give it a try!

  31. This sounds and looks incredible!

  32. Az. SBSM says:

    Wow, this one is definetly a keeper! OM heavens they all look so yummy, but I definetly must try the eggnog cake. Wow, is all I can say. Love the look of your blog by the way, the colors are fun and bright, and the pictures are awesome. Congratulations on being Freshly Pressed.

    Leila
    http://azsbsm.wordpress.com/

  33. Looks scrumptious. Will be sure to try this! Always looking for new ways to liven the holidays.

  34. This looks absolutely divine.

    And btw, my heart breaks when people use margarine, too…

    😉

  35. i can barely make a grilled cheese…but you are more than welcome in my kitchen anytime to cook up this treat!
    http://dearexgirlfriend.com

  36. robocooker says:

    This cake looks and sounds delicious, I am definatley going to use your burbon cream frosting recipe.

    Thanks

  37. […] Firstie was wanting an Egg Nog cake for his special December day.  Not finding a recipe for "egg nog cake" anywhere on the web, I did the only thing that a girl can do in that situation:  I panicked. Then my creative brain kicked in and reminded me that cake making was pretty straight forward in its formula; just give it the appropriate seasonal flair and … Read More […]

  38. Jackie says:

    My sister will absolutely LOVE this! Thanks!

  39. Angie De Angelis says:

    This looks ridiculously delicious. Where’s the post on how to prevent yourself from eating the whole thing in one sitting?

  40. denise:) says:

    You have just provided me with NYE dinner’s dessert! that looks FABULOUS! gorgeous photos too…

  41. benganje says:

    I would love to see a youtube clip of the process involved to get a little inspiration to make it myself! Nice work!

    Ben Ganje, Urban Realtor®/Dad

  42. eva626 says:

    wow looks amazing!!!!! nice blog btw!

  43. Lisa Davis says:

    That looks awesome and I simply must make it! My mother LOVES egg nog and I know she will love this cake. Thank you for sharing it.

  44. […] Firstie was wanting an Egg Nog cake for his special December day.  Not finding a recipe for "egg nog cake" anywhere on the web, I did the only thing that a girl can do in that situation:  I panicked. Then my creative brain kicked in and reminded me that cake making was pretty straight forward in its formula; just give it the appropriate seasonal flair and … Read More […]

  45. Lady Di says:

    When you say “block” of cream cheese, I’ll assume that’s 8 oz each? LOL I buy mine in 2 lb blocks, which probably makes more frosting than is needed. This sounds wonderful and I reposted so my family could enjoy it too.

  46. […] Firstie was wanting an Egg Nog cake for his special December day.  Not finding a recipe for "egg nog cake" anywhere on the web, I did the only thing that a girl can do in that situation:  I panicked. Then my creative brain kicked in and reminded me that cake making was pretty straight forward in its formula; just give it the appropriate seasonal flair and … Read More […]

  47. Interesting! I want to try it

  48. […] Eggnog?)  Well, how about an eggnog cake (with bourbon cream frosting)?  I ran across this recipe in the blogosphere (courtesy of Jennifer Sinclair and her “Life in the Garden” blog) […]

  49. 1344353 says:

    O Jesus, son of Mary! Is thy Lord able to send down for us a table spread with food from heaven?

    http://jesussonofmary1432.blogspot.com/

  50. What a gorgeous cake! I love the idea of using egg nog.

  51. It certainly sounds like you came up with an awesome recipe on your own! Who needs the internet? This sounds perfect for the season, and I’m glad you have recipes up here for each part! I’ve never seen a homemade eggnog recipe, and the frosting sounds fab, and the ice cream too! Great job on everything!

  52. wit & whimsy says:

    Light Dusting…

    I found your entry interesting thus I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

  53. laurastaylor says:

    Oh my. That looks sinfully delicious.

  54. zoesays says:

    Wow, my egg nog obsessed boyfriend will LOVE this. I’m running to email him to check this post out asap! Thanks!!

  55. littlemgoesbig says:

    omg i’m making this pronto. everyone is wanting eggnog right now, and this is SO what they’re getting- thanks for sharing!

  56. Lakia Gordon says:

    Thanks for the recipe!

  57. Scooby Doo says:

    This is a great recipe and article. Thanks for sharing

    Scott D.
    http://www.jumju.com

  58. Jess says:

    Wow, look at all your comments!

    That looks fabulous, must try sometime! Firstie’s eggnog ice cream was delish!

  59. […] Think I’m going to have to entice the wife to make this some time. Hmmm, she’s off of work all week…HINT HINT HINT HINT. Firstie was wanting an Egg Nog cake for his special December day.  Not finding a recipe for “egg nog cake” anywhere on the web, I did the only thing that a girl can do in that situation:  I panicked. Then my creative brain kicked in and reminded me that cake making was pretty straight forward in its formula; just give it the appropriate seasonal flair and … Read More […]

  60. Breland Kent says:

    Yummy! You made me hungry now haha

  61. Carol J says:

    WOW! Sure enough, I got in a pinch and called my daughter for a dessert idea, not knowing she was being famous on her blog with her Egg Nog Cake. Holy smokes. I thought, “I have to serve this as my daughter made up this recipe.” I was able to put it together in about 35 minutes. Since I gave my round cake pans away and Nobody in the neighborhood had round, I was forced to use a 13×9 cake pan. So I cut it in half and then split the halves as well, giving me four equal cake pieces. I iced the cake and crushed a Ginger snap then sprinkled it all over the cake and the large red square plate I served it on. My first comments from my clergy guests were “beautiful presentation.” And then came the “oh my this is very tasty”. And then, of course, I got my bragging rights out and told them, “I taught her everything she knows————Except this!” God love you. MOM

  62. zephyrliving says:

    I told my man about your cake and his immediate response was, when can we make it? The vanilla and gingersnap ice cream sealed the deal. I believe that it’s going to become a holiday classic in our home. Thank you so much for the gift of your creative genius!

  63. gremlinperson says:

    Out with the old red velvet cake, and in with the new eggnog cake!

  64. Evie Garone says:

    What can I say but YUM!! I think I’m in love! Thanks for sharing…what more could you ask for in a recipe?? Congrats on your creativity & on being Freshly Pressed!!

    evelyngarone.com

  65. maybemayest says:

    thanks for bringing me a happiness 🙂

  66. joey ramone says:

    Thanks for taking the time to discuss this, I feel strongly about it and love learning more on this topic. If possible, as you gain expertise, would you mind updating your blog with more information? It is extremely helpful for me. 🙂

  67. […] some friends just around the corner from our house for a house party. I’m hoping to make this Eggnog Cake to bring with us. I’m also hoping to Kill Christmas as Zach hilariously puts it. Busy day on […]

  68. Evan Thomas says:

    This sounds DELICIOUS. And very inventive, too! Great recipe.

  69. Good Post. I have read quite a few posts on this topic and you have written about it the best. Keep it up!

  70. Really nice style and design and fantastic written content , absolutely nothing else we need : D.

  71. rsmacaalay says:

    Nothing will beat a classic recipe like this.

    Can I have a slice 🙂

    Anyways have a very Happy New Year! And hope to see more blog entires this coming year.

  72. This sounds sooooo good. I cannot wait to take it to the next family function. I bet they all love it! Thank you for sharing it!

    Andrea
    http://luminousbeing.wordpress.com/
    http://www.cowgirlblingthings.com/

  73. culinaryabsurdity says:

    Putting rich egg nog into a cake – LOVE it. I cannot say my gargantuan ass agrees.

  74. mecalvincasey says:

    So, I made the cake, frosting and ice cream last night in celebration of New Years. It was a hit! It is now going to be my new favorite birthday cake… my former favorite was cherry chip with cherry frosting…

  75. I’ve been on your blog less than 5 minutes and I’m sure I’ve gained 10 lbs. just by looking at the photos!

  76. […] First up: the recipe. After lots of internet research, I settled on a straightforward one from Life in the Garden. After compiling all the ingredients and tools for this baking adventure, I queued up some classic […]

Leave a Reply

