St. Cecilia!

The joy of music

The joy of music

Oh, my. There is no way that we deserve such a tremendous find, but we are so grateful to God for this gift!

It’s a 1922 1935 Hardman baby grand piano. We found it in a little music shop here for a pittance. She’s old and has been knocked around, but ohhhhhh, my! She’s got the voice of an angel–a mighty powerful voice, at that. : )

Oh! As to why I named this post “St. Cecilia”, let me explain a bit. Hub & I went round and round about when to get an acoustic piano (we had a wonderful digital keyboard, but no pedals were becoming an issue in piano lessons). We’d decided after our latest round of migraine-laced discussion to get an upright and to wait a year while the dust settled from the move. As I sat there at my desk, banging my head ever so gently, I offered a little prayer, “St. Cecilia, pray for us.”

The next day, I woke up with a bee in my bonnet to go to the music store about an hour’s drive away. They pointed us to the piano showroom (think showroom in terms of a mom & pop music store) and there, back in the corner with no love at all, was the Hardman. Fortunately for us, there “just happened to be” a young man walk in off the street who started playing all the grands in the store just for fun. I managed my courage and asked him if he’d mind playing this particular piano and he played for us cheerfully, and like I’ve never seen. (And according to him, he taught himself in about a year. Hmmmm….) It was amazing, such gorgeous music! The young man agreed with our novice ear that it had the best sound of any piano in the shop. Went over the old gal with a fine tooth comb and mechanically, she was about as close to perfect as you can get. The finish? Scratched and dinged from one end to the other, but that can fixed; sound cannot.

So there you go! Thank you St. Cecilia for your prayers, and thank you LORD for answering our prayers and giving us such an undeserved gift as this beautiful piano.

PS. First song played on the piano here? “Immaculate Mary” by Firstie.

Ad Majorem Dei Gloriam!

3 Responses to St. Cecilia!

  1. KC says:

    That’s awesome!!! Welcome back to blogging!

  2. snowbabies says:

    Wonderful!!!! I absolutely love this!! What a find!!

  3. Joy Campbell says:

    It is so beautiful. It is a rare-find. I am still looking for my Grand piano. But, I love my Baldwin upright… and I am thankful to God for that. God knows I will not do anything anymore if I find my grand piano.

Leave a Reply

