Lesson Plan Book for Workboxes

After much struggle brainstorming to figure out how to get a whole week’s worth of lesson plans onto a single page Workbox-style, I stumbled onto a format that is easy on the eyes and super simple to use.  Praise be to God for the inspiration!

This is a Legal-sized plan book, and although it’s a little bigger than I’m used to, I love the visual peace on the page.

Project Tools:

  • PDF file to print
  • Legal size printing paper
  • Binding (either supplies or a service)
  • Cover material (either construction paper (cut and assembled) or Legal size cover stock)

The PDF for the file is right there in the Box.net widget in the right side scroll bar; feel free to use it to your heart’s content and share it with your friends if you find it helpful.

This plan book is blessedly simple.  Here’s a look:

One week of Workboxing at your fingertips

One week of Workboxing at your fingertips

I grouped the 12 boxes into three groups of four, which reflects how we break up our our school day; we’ll work through these from top left to bottom right, just like reading.  There is plenty of room for family duties and fun.  The Notes box is to record problems & tweaks to help for the next week.  I have a global plan for the year, but plan in five 9-week quarters (we’re year ’rounders).  You can click the images for a better look, just hit the back button to return to the post.

Cover (very, extremely homemade O: )

Cover (very, extremely homemade O: )

Blessings to you in your planning days!

- Jennifer

ps–apologies for the dark pictures; hard disk error and not all of my software’s been re-installed.  Soon, hopefully. : )

14 Responses to Lesson Plan Book for Workboxes

  1. Toni says:

    Wow! Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful work!

    Did you spiral bind it yourself?

    • Jennifer says:

      Hi Toni,

      Thanks so much. I’ve been struggling with lesson plan formats for three long years; this was literally the answer to my crossed-eye prayers! : )

      About the spiral binding? Yes……I did it myself. We’ve needed one for years and I always talked myself out of it because of the expense, but when the “ebooks” lightbulb popped over my head, that was the end of that. I’ve had it about a month and it’s become one of the most-used tools in our schooling. Love it.

      Thanks for visiting!

  2. Shannon says:

    Thank you so much for sharing this! What a blessing!

  3. Cassandra says:

    Jen – NOW whose the Obi Wan! LOL! You’re a genius! Sometimes I overthink things so much, I grind a great idea into an unrecognizable slush. Thanks for allowing me to put away the brain blender on this one! Can’t wait to fill in all those little boxes….

    • Jennifer says:

      Cassandra, that means a very much a lotta coming from you, my friend! And FTR, I’m all too happy to put away the brain blender, too. I’m giving up slushies! ; )

  4. number17cherrytreelane says:

    I think I have found my homeschool haven! This site is helpful in so many ways!! Thanks for dropping by the blog! Hope to get to know you better!

    • Jennifer says:

      Thanks so much for visiting!

      I was just reading the discussion on your blog (guilty of posting before reading…bad WordPresser, bad!) and it’s so very interesting, all the different opinions. I’m one of those who had to get knocked in the head to even consider it; I used to regard homeschooling as akin to a federal crime. But then He opened my ears, then my eyes, then my heart–and that was it.

      So glad you’re here; stop by anytime. : )

  5. Karen says:

    Oh… I like that! I have, too, made my own planning form and think I may incorporate your ideas (larger page, boxes, etc…) My form has more than 12 spaces per day so I can keep track of how often I schedule additional things (karate practice, reading to siblings, Wii Fit, and other non-box activities that still get placed on the schedule strip). I am certain I can adapt that to your great planner! Thanks so much for the link to your post.

  6. Sarah says:

    Just wanted to leave a quick comment about dark pics – there is a great free photo editing site that I use all the time that has lots of options. picnik.com

    Hope that might help you if you encounter anymore issues with your own photo editing software.
    :)

    • Jennifer says:

      Hi Sarah,

      I finally have my Photoshop back, thank Heavens! I about can’t function (photographically…obviously! LOL) without it.

      Thanks for visiting. Would you like to leave the link, for anyone who might need an online photo ed fix?

      Blessings ~

  7. I found this while searching for workbox ideas. Thank you for such a valuable resource!

  8. […] create a worbox lesson plan book […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

